Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Independent directory · online programs only

Find and Compare Online Engineering Degrees

Explore online bachelor's, master's, and PhD programs from US engineering schools. Compare majors, tuition, accreditation, admissions, and campus requirements.

  • 320verified online programs
  • 55universities
  • 20of 22 majors with listings
  • 115fully online (stated)

Browse by degree

Online engineering degrees at every level

Online Engineering Master's Programs

The largest group: professional MEng and research-capable MS degrees, most designed for working engineers.

All 260 master's programs

Online Engineering Bachelor's Programs

Fewer and more varied: check entry route, prior-credit requirements and how labs are completed.

All 35 bachelor's programs

Online Engineering PhD Programs

Research degrees with a distance pathway. Residency, research location and funding vary widely.

All 25 PhD programs

Fully Online Options

115 programs whose school states the whole degree can be completed with no campus visits, on-campus labs, residencies or in-person research. Other online programs show exactly what they require in person.

ABET-Accredited Programs

17 online programs match a current accreditation in ABET's own database whose record lists the online pathway. ABET accredits programs, not universities, and mostly bachelor's degrees — graduate programs without ABET are not inferior on that account.

Editorial selections

Best Online Engineering Schools

Researched selections against published criteria, with evidence, strengths, tradeoffs and applicant fit for every entry — not sold, not numbered, not based on campus reputation.

All selections

Selected verified programs

Profiles with the most verified facts. Shown for discovery — not ranked.

Search all programs
Penn State World Campus logo

Penn State World Campus

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC · online not listed Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: University Park, PASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 126 credits
Tuition: $644 per credit · All students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester, 59 or fewer total credits · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $81,144 (126 credits × $644 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: June 30, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
St. Cloud State University logo

St. Cloud State University

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBSE ABET EAC Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entryDegree completion
Location: Saint Cloud, MNSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 122 credits
Tuition: $385.67 per credit · Online students — B.S. Software Engineering online, current estimated rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $47,051.74 (122 credits × $385.67 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 28, 2026 · Spring A 2027
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Engineering in Bioengineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Bioengineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Champaign, ILSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: as little as one year, or one course at a time · 32 credits
Tuition: $1,195 per credit · All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,240 (32 credits × $1,195 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Wisconsin–Madison logo

University of Wisconsin–Madison

Master of Engineering in Civil and Environmental Engineering: Environmental Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Civil & Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering · Civil Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Madison, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 2–3 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,100 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $33,000 (30 credits × $1,100 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program

How listings are verified

  1. 1. Confirm the online degree

    We check the awarded degree, the major and the online pathway on the school's own program and catalog pages. A general “online programs” page is not proof that an engineering degree is online.

  2. 2. Match accreditation

    Institutional accreditation comes from the US Department of Education's database; ABET status from ABET's accredited-program database, matched program by program.

  3. 3. Quote every fact

    Attendance, labs, tuition, admissions and deadlines are saved with the official page and a verbatim quote, then re-checked on the live page. 1,913 fact groups are live.

  4. 4. Show what's missing

    Unpublished information stays “Not verified”. Missing GRE information never means “no GRE”, missing tuition never means free, and online never means no in-person requirements.

Editorial methodology · Data sources and verification · Suggest an update

Admissions and comparison guides

All guides

Questions about this directory

Which programs does this directory include?
Bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that US colleges and universities offer through an online pathway. Campus-only degrees, certificates, bootcamps, generic computer science and engineering management degrees are not listed. Engineering Technology degrees and hybrid programs are kept in separately labelled sections.
What does “Fully online” mean here?
That the school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance — no campus visits, on-campus lab sessions, residencies or in-person research. Many online engineering programs still require some of these; every card and profile shows the requirement, and unknown requirements are marked “not verified”, never assumed away.
Does an ABET label mean the whole university is accredited?
No. ABET accredits individual programs. A program shows ABET only when ABET's own database lists a current accreditation for that program, with the commission (EAC, ETAC, CAC) and whether ABET's record covers the online pathway. Every school here also holds institutional accreditation, which is different.
Will an online degree make me eligible for a PE license?
This directory does not decide that. Licensure is granted by each state's engineering board and usually requires an engineering degree (often from an EAC-accredited program), the FE exam, supervised experience and the PE exam. Engineering Technology degrees follow different rules in many states.
How are the “Best” lists made?
They are unnumbered editorial selections against published criteria — verified discipline, a clear attendance model, published tuition and admissions — backed by evidence from each program's own pages. They are never sold, and they do not use reputation surveys, salaries or a university's campus prestige.